RPA inducts new National Honor Society members

Redmond Proficiency Academy (RPA) students and instructors participated in an induction ceremony on Tuesday, April 11, where 21 new members were inducted into the RPA chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS).

“NHS is about leaving a legacy in your community for what you care about, for me that’s helping students learn and engage in their education,” said senior Bodie Dachtler. “The induction ceremony was a fantastic event and I’m excited to watch the next generation of RPA NHS students flourish.”

Students apply for NHS membership every fall and get accepted after a review from RPA staff members. Students are evaluated on character, scholarship, leadership and service – four pillars that have been associated with membership in the organization since its inception in 1921.    

The NHS website estimates that more than one million students participate in NHS activities, with chapters in all 50 states, U.S. Territories, Canada, and around the world

NHS states that the average chapter contributes 1,000 hours of school/community service, $26,000 in charitable donations, 1,000 pounds of food to local, state, and national causes, and 100 pints of blood. This year, RPA’s NHS members have logged over 1,350 hours of community service with about a quarter of that coming from academic tutoring, specifically. RPA chapter members also organize a Red Cross Blood Drive each fall and spring, with 50 +  units of blood being donated.

RPA inducted the following new members:  senior Aaron Affeldt, junior Amelie Montgomery, junior Anna Morgan, senior Ashlynn Underwood, sophomore August Sharp, sophomore Claire Gray, sophomore Darrian Streater, sophomore Delaney Streater, sophomore Edison Medlock, junior Fallyn Finley, senior Gabriela Hernandez Cruz, senior Gabbard Herring, junior Hope Martin-Guyton, sophomore Johan Jeffrey, junior Juniper Maurer, sophomore Nora Taylor, sophomore Preston Chimpky, junior Samantha Maragas, senior Skyler Riggs, junior Ronin Lawrence, and sophomore Wade Hilmes.

RPA’s chapter is led by senior Bodie Dachtler, president and senior Liam Windhamsmith, vice-president.   

Committee Chairs are senior Ben Barrie, junior Bliss Louvar and junior Ryn Sears. The chapter is also supported by senior Rowan Eng-Kryston – secretary, junior Arden Anderson – treasurer and senior Anne McCook – historian.

Comments are closed.